Geek Girl

Geek Girl

Language: English

Pages: 384

ISBN: 0062333585

Format: PDF / Kindle (mobi) / ePub


Geek + runway = a runaway UK hit! Geek Girl is the first book in a hilarious, internationally bestselling series that's perfect for fans of Louise Rennison and the Princess Diaries series.

Harriet Manners is a geek. She always has been, and she thought she always would be—but when she's discovered by a modeling agent, she leaps at the chance to reinvent herself. There's only one problem: Harriet is the definition of awkward. Can she transform from geek to chic?

Includes a sneak peek at Geek Girl: Model Misfit!

The Prisoner of Vandam Street (Kinky Friedman, Book 17)

Cocktail Time

Carter's Big Break

The Devil's Financial Dictionary

Le fabuleux Maurie et ses rongeurs savants (Les annales du Dique-monde, Tome 28)

Something Fresh (Blandings Castle, Book 1)

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

the room with as much dignity as I can muster. Which – as my spare leg gets caught in the door frame until Annabel unhooks me in peals of laughter – isn’t much. y door doesn’t slam nearly as loudly as it used to. I think my parents must have sanded it down. Which is very underhanded of them, and also suppresses my legal freedom to express myself creatively. I shut it three times to make up for it. Once I’m lying flat on my bed, though, I start to feel ever so slightly ashamed of myself.

shows me that he was right and Annabel is totally fuming. While Dad bounds around the room, annoying the hell out of the receptionist, Annabel is sitting in total silence, bolt upright, with her back nowhere near the chair. The tendons in her neck are standing out like the bubbles in our living-room wallpaper. Then I realise why. Somewhere in the direction Annabel keeps looking, I can hear the distant sound of a girl crying. “Where have you been?” she demands as soon as I walk in, but I’m saved

right now.” “Her name is not Frankie,” Annabel hisses in barely contained frustration. “It’s Harriet.” “Could you not at least have smiled, Frankie?” Dad sighs as he studies the photos. “Why do you always sulk?” He looks apologetically at Wilbur. “She ruined eighty per cent of our photos when we were in France last summer.” “Her name is Harriet!” Annabel almost shrieks at Dad. “Oh, no,” Wilbur says earnestly. “That works for me. People like their high-fashion models to look as deeply unhappy

around he’s gone again. Poof. Like the proverbial genie. “Look at you, just bouncing around like a little kangaroo in the snow!” Dad pushes past him. “All right, kiddo?” he says, and it looks like his face is going to snap in half, he’s smiling so hard. “Chip off the old block, that was. I used to do high jump for the under-sixteens. Won trophies and everything.” “Dad, you won a bronze medallion on Sports Day once when you were thirteen. It’s still on top of the fireplace.” “Trophy, medallion,

shouts. “Where’s Harriet?” “I’m here,” I say as clearly as I can and realise my hands are damp. Dad’s somewhere out in the audience: Yuka reluctantly gave him a seat near the back. I have to make him proud. I have to. I have to make Annabel proud too, even though she isn’t here and doesn’t know about it. “Get ready,” the man says. “You’re nearly up.” I stand against the curtains and notice that there are three girls in front of me. Rose, Shola and a girl I haven’t spoken to – or been shouted

Download sample

Download