The Case of the Missing Moonstone (The Wollstonecraft Detective Agency, Book 1)

The Case of the Missing Moonstone (The Wollstonecraft Detective Agency, Book 1)

Jordan Stratford, Kelly Murphy

Language: English

Pages: 240

ISBN: 0385754434

Format: PDF / Kindle (mobi) / ePub


History, mystery, and science collide in a new series for middle-grade readers, perfect for fans of The Mysterious Benedict Society and Lemony Snicket!
 
Jordan Stratford imagines an alternate 1826, where Ada Lovelace (the world’s first computer programmer) and Mary Shelley (author of Frankenstein) meet as girls and form a secret detective agency!
 
Lady Ada Byron, age eleven, is a genius. Isolated, awkward and a bit rude—but a genius. Mary Godwin, age fourteen, is a romantic. Adventurous, astute, and kind, Mary is to become Ada’s first true friend. And together, the girls conspire to form the Wollstonecraft Detective Agency—a secret constabulary for the apprehension of clever criminals. Their first case involves a stolen heirloom, a false confession, and an array of fishy suspects. But it’s no match for the deductive powers and bold hearts of Ada and Mary.
 
Mystery fans will love this tween girl riff on Sherlock Holmes and John Watson. History buffs will be delighted to see all the real figures who play a role in this story and appreciate the extensive backmatter that helps separate truth from fiction. Parents and educators hoping to promote the STEM fields for girls will be thrilled to have a series where two girls use math, science, and creative analytical thinking to solve crimes. But most especially--emerging readers will love this series filled with humor, action, intrigue and wonderful artwork from Kelly Murphy.

From the Hardcover edition.

The Knight at Dawn (Magic Tree House, Book 2)

The Mystery of the Burnt Cottage (The Five Find-Outers, Book 1)

Don't Spill the Milk!

Cam Jansen and the Ghostly Mystery (Cam Jansen, Book 16)

Batter Up!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Mr. Franklin did not, or possibly could not, speak, but he made himself perfectly clear through a variety of subtle expressions. The one he offered Peebs (by raising his left eyebrow ever so slightly) seemed to say Come with me or I may step on you by accident and it is not likely you would enjoy the experience. So when he turned and walked downstairs, Peebs followed dutifully. Down the stairs, through the entrance hall, down the back hall, and around the corner to the upper kitchen and an open

the drawing room to make notes from their interview with the Verdigris family. Passing the library, she noticed a recently released Peebs hurriedly replacing a small blue book on a shelf. “Ah,” he said, nervous about something. “Miss Godwin. You’re back.” “Yes, thank you,” said Mary, not sure what she was thanking him for. “I’ll, just, um, yes. Books. Many, many books.” “This is the library,” said Mary calmly. “Yes. Just, you know, browsing. No particular book. Just books in general.” “I

and stared up at his pupil, who was firmly shut in a large wicker box. He was startled by the loud clang of a ship’s bell right outside the attic window. He hadn’t noticed the bell before, but he certainly had noticed Mr. Franklin, the house’s extraordinarily tall and curiously silent butler, who now struck the bell once more. A window popped open on the side of the basket, and the lens of a clicking brass telescope emerged. Ada clearly wanted to see what the bell heralded without having to

through the baroque and byzantine world of mainstream publishing; and to Nancy Siscoe for her myriad insights and contributions, for finding a home for this series—as it continues to evolve—at Knopf, and for sending me off in fascinating fact-checking directions. JOIN THE WOLLSTONECRAFT DETECTIVES ON THEIR NEXT CASE! Turn the page for a sneak peek at Book Two, The Case of the Girl in Gray. Excerpt copyright � 2015 by Jordan Stratford. Published by Alfred A. Knopf, an imprint of Random House

towers of little blocks strung along the brass rods. It took her a moment to understand what she was seeing. A horse. Galloping. Each cube, now light, now dark, fluttered in place, and the blocks together made a picture, and that picture was moving. Alive. Wondrous. A horse galloping along a forest of wooden cubes, over and over and over. Mary didn’t realize that her hand was over her mouth until she saw Ada’s eyebrow at that odd angle again. Mary laughed at herself. “When you say anything

Download sample

Download