The Well of Lost Plots (Thursday Next Series)

The Well of Lost Plots (Thursday Next Series)

Jasper Fforde

Language: English

Pages: 375

ISBN: 0143034359

Format: PDF / Kindle (mobi) / ePub


The third installment in Jasper Fforde’s New York Times bestselling series follows literary detective Thursday Next on another adventure in her alternate reality of literature-obsessed England

Jasper Fforde has done it again in this genre-bending blend of crime fiction, fantasy, and top-drawer literary entertainment. After two rollicking New York Times bestselling adventures through Western literature, resourceful BookWorld literary detective Thursday Next definitely needs some downtime. And what better place for a respite than in the hidden depths of the Well of Lost Plots, where all unpublished books reside? But peace and quiet remain elusive for Thursday, who soon discovers that the Well is a veritable linguistic free-for-all, where grammasites run rampant, plot devices are hawked on the black market, and lousy books—like the one she has taken up residence in—are scrapped for salvage. To make matters worse, a murderer is stalking the personnel of Jurisfiction and it’s up to Thursday to save the day. A brilliant feat of literary showmanship filled with wit, fantasy, and effervescent originality, this Ffordian tour de force will appeal to fans of Douglas Adams and P. G. Wodehouse. Thursday’s zany investigations continue with Something Rotten. Look for the five other bestselling Thursday Next novels, including One of Our Thursdays is Missing and Jasper Fforde’s latest bestseller, The Woman Who Died A Lot. Visit jasperfforde.com for a ffull window into the Ffordian world!

Straight to Hell: True Tales of Deviance, Debauchery, and Billion-Dollar Deals

The Restless Supermarket

The Sick Lovers Joke Book

Hustler's Dirtiest Jokes

Puckoon

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Randolph scornful y. 'A bit mean, I must say!' 'Only three readers,' I murmured, my heart going cold as I recal ed the three witches' prophecy: Thrice is once and thrice is twice and thrice again— Perhaps the new operating system was not quite the egalitarian advance it claimed – if it was real y the case that UltraWord™ books could only be opened three times then libraries would be a thing of the past. And the angular truck, the strange bolt? What did al that mean? I shivered. If something was

described or hinted at. Libris, would you care to outline a "new" plot now?' 'They won't be available until UltraWord™ is online,' he said, glaring at Tweed, who was stil trying to contact Text Grand Central. 'Then they are untested. Second,' I went on, 'UltraWord™ carries a thrice-read-only feature. This means no more PRO version Are you a developer? Try out the HTML to PDF API pdfcrowd.com book lending. Libraries wil close down overnight, second-hand bookshops wil be a thing of the past.

camera pictures back from the labs,' she said, handing them over. 'I thought I would have topped one hundred and sixty, but look – wel , it's pitiful, that's what it is!' I looked. The speed camera had caught the Higham Special but recorded only a top speed of 152.76 mph. But what was worse, it showed Mr Toad travel ing at over a hundred and eighty – and he had even raised his hat at the speed camera as he went past. 'I managed a hundred and seventy when I tried it on the M4,' she said sadly.

infestation: 1 (one) nesting pair of Parenthiums (protected). Plot: Routine detective thril er with stereotypical detective Jack Spratt. Set in Reading (England), the plot (such as it is) revolves around a drugs czar hoping to muscle in on Reading's seedy underworld. Routine and unremarkable, Caversham Heights represents al the worst aspects of amateur writing. Flat characters, unconvincing police work and a pace so slow that snails pass it in the night. Recommendation: Unpublishable. Suggest

table. She and Mr Phil ips were closer now than they had ever been before. She put out a hand to touch his lapel, but checked herself quickly. 'Shal … shal I pour you a cup?' she asked. 'Thank you!' exclaimed Mr Phil ips. 'Milk and—' '—one sugar.' She smiled shyly. 'Yes, yes, I know.' She poured the tea and handed the cup and saucer to him. He took it grateful y. 'Mr Phil ips?' 'Yes?' 'Do I have a first name?' PRO version Are you a developer? Try out the HTML to PDF API pdfcrowd.com

Download sample

Download